Growing Pains

hclubquoteb8694336cbbc67ea2f3c2b43b4a5b25c

I love to get daily inspirational words & quotes in my personal inbox. Today’s quote, I have to admit, hit home with me in a huge way… & I’d like to share my thoughts with you in case some of you can relate. 🙂

I don’t know about you, but as much as I love to try & experience new things, I really like to feel I’m in control when it comes to certain areas of my life.  If something appears too stressful or difficult, I tend to shun or shy away from & avoid it as much as possible.  I suppose this is a natural reaction.  A lot of people don’t like to feel out-of-place or out of sorts when it comes to learning a new skill or meeting new people.   I have struggled immensely with this, although I have improved I think over the last few years.

I remember back when I was in high school, I took a drama class & was given a scene to carry out in front of the class.  I said my lines with emotion & conviction & was praised overwhelmingly by my teacher at the time.  She also suggested that I try out for a stage play that was coming up, per she felt I was, “that good”.   I remember my exact thoughts…sure, I performed in front of the class & that was scary enough, but on stage?  That would be a nightmare!  I wasn’t very talkative, except around my close friends, so the idea of standing in front of the entire school was just TOO much to handle. I immediately tried to make excuses as to why I didn’t think I would be able to follow through & do it, but she wouldn’t take no for an answer & practically drafted me into doing the play.  Long story short, I was great!  I received a standing ovation & basically everyone in the school new my name afterwards.

I  often go back to this memory to get out of my own way when faced with a current new challenge that feels “overwhelming” to me.  Although I still try to sometimes “make excuses”, I’m realizing that some of my best experiences happened after I was willing to step out & try something different or look at something differently.  Yes, life can be disappointing at times & very painful, but also during these times, I think our best selves are being shaped & carved during the process & if you allow it…can eventually blossom to something beautiful.

Please share your thoughts…

 

7 thoughts on “Growing Pains

  1. Pingback: Wishful Wednesday – Courage | Hunt's Clubhouse

  2. You are so right and I think this is common among a lot of us. I know it is for me. I get myself all in a tizzy about something that is unknown to me but I have to do…after it’s over I usually realize wow that wasn’t so bad after all…why did I make such a fuss…that was nothing…It would be wonderful to embrace new and foreign experiences and be excited about them rather than afraid of them. Guess we have some work to do! Great post!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

So, What Do Ya Think? Let me know!

