Do It Anyway

Motivation Monday

hclubnice-card

Photo from notonthehighstreet.com 

 

I was inspired to write this post after I saw an article on bayart.org , which asked the question…”What are the advantages of being nice?” Feel free to check it out. I did reply & give a response in the comments, but I felt I had more to say, so I decided to write my own post to elaborate more on the subject.

For starters, what is the definition of being NICE? The word ‘Nice’, according to the dictionary is described as;  Pleasant,  Agreeable, Exhibiting Courtesy and Politeness, Of Good Character and Reputation; Respectable.  I think we can all agree with that right?

If someone in front of you, holds the door for you, so you can also come through, would be considered Nice.  If someone voluntarily offers you a tissue after you sneezed, would be considered Nice.  And so on, & so on…basically anything someone does for you that is unmerited, on their own accord without your asking, OR…it can be granting you what you actually asked for…simply because they can & desire to help.  We all know what it means generally speaking in our day-to-day lives, per we encounter these things on a daily basis. So, what about in our blogging community?  How would this word be defined in our online community?  Lets explore.

 

Every type of social media has a way for people to respond or reply to comments, posts & articles by Liking, Following, Sharing, or Commenting in some form or fashion.  If someone likes what you wrote about, or a pic you’ve posted they can ‘Like it’, ‘Post a Comment’ or ‘Share’…it with others…the same if they don’t like it…they can say nothing. I still have a lot to learn, but one thing I think I have figured out is the definition of etiquette within the blogging community.

Now, this is not the type of topic I normally write about, but I’m the type of person who has to release things that bother me, so please forgive me for its wordiness!

A short while ago, some blogs were nominated for an award.  Now in return, you usually acknowledge &  thank the blog that nominated you & then if you choose to, nominate others…its like a chain…it can go on & on. Well, out of all the blogs I nominated, shockingly…less than a handful bothered to say thank you or even respond at all.

I just eventually chalked it up to the fact that maybe most of them didn’t read it, or see it. But, there was also a nominee that I received feedback from directly, that happened to receive a second nomination a few days AFTER mine from another blog with a larger following.  And for some reason, chose to only post about the second award on their blog, Completely omitting my previous nomination, they received just days before.

Somewhat perplexed, I really didn’t know how to process such uncommon behavior.  Is there some type of hierarchy rule that I’m not aware of?  Do you need to possess a certain criterion to be acknowledge worthy or something?  I was beginning to see why some people didn’t bother to participate in these sorts of things.

Now, I realize that we all have busy lives, things happen…life happens, & no one is perfect…but what type of community have we become if we can’t take the time to say THANK YOU??  Or even APPRECIATE acts of kindness??  Of course, you are NOT obligated to participate in any awards or anything else for that matter, but what does it cost you to at least Acknowledge someone’s kind gesture…other than a couple of minutes of your time.

 

As I have stated before in previous posts…I’m not responsible for what someone else does or how someone else responds, I can only control HOW I RESPOND to any situation. (Sigh) Ahh, I feel better already.  I’m releasing all of that negative energy, & its liberating!  So, what have I learned after all of this?

When you give & show kindness, its fuel… its energy, not just for the other person, but for yourself…you’re allowing the floodgates to pour back into you.  I ENJOY giving to people, I enjoy encouraging others & inspiring others.

So, I’m going to keep doing what I enjoy, Anyway.  It is my mission & my calling, & I will continue doing so! And, I want to encourage YOU as well. No matter what you do for someone else, either in your private lives or even in the online community, do it wholeheartedly, do it with fervor, & do it for you!  Regardless if the recipient will acknowledge it or not….Do It Anyway!  Now, go out & brighten up someone’s day today…”Toodles!” 🙂

Oh, you can start by brightening mine!…Please leave your thoughts & comments 😉

Also, here’s a poem to help fuel your spirits…Enjoy!

hclubanyway

5 thoughts on “Do It Anyway

  1. Yes, yes, yes to this post!! I feel slighted sometimes when it comes to “thank yous,” but I need to remember the feelings of giving are better than the applause afterwards.

    Liked by 2 people

So, What Do Ya Think? Let me know!

