Why Do You Follow Blogs Then Never Visit?

Today, I’m just going to jump right in.  First off I’d like to say, I appreciate ALL of my followers.  I appreciate YOU! ❤  I try to take the time every week to visit & comment on your blogs, & it is a time consuming process, believe me, but I sacrifice the 2 hrs – 3hrs(or more) to do it, because I’m dedicated to supporting you 🙂

But lately, I’m having a hard time understanding how some of you don’t even bother to visit or comment on posts. 😦   I’ve actually seen quite a few articles written about this issue, regarding those that just expect to get likes & follows, by joining every meet & greet & blog party in sight, but doesn’t want to take the time to reciprocate.  I know this doesn’t apply to everyone, but for a few it does.  Initially, I was going to just reblog someone’s post regarding this topic, but decided to just write up my own instead.

Now, don’t get me wrong, we are all busy people, we have lives, we have families, but we are a part of a “Blogging Community“correct?  I’m sure you really enjoy it when someone visits your page don’t you?  Doesn’t it make you feel good when someone leaves a comment & compliments your topic, or can really relate to your point of view?  I know it does, otherwise you wouldn’t take the time to blog!  Now, obviously it is not the ONLY reason, (at least it shouldn’t be) but encouragement & feedback certainly does help. 🙂   It’s pretty boring to take the time to write up something, & no one gives any feedback….I mean, where is the fun in that?

So, lets go over some basics shall we?

When you follow a blog, take the time to visit their pages

Do go through & LIKE their posts on a weekly basis (Especially those that visit you)

Also, try not to just LIKE a post…please try to READ it as well (as much as possible)

Please try to leave comments (again, as much as you’re able)

Share posts…Share the love! ❤

Now, my question to you is …

Are you just not interested?  Too busy?

I think it’s a good idea to set aside at least one day a week that you can sit back & focus on visiting & reading thru blogs…it will make it a lot simpler, if you’re not able to check on a daily basis.

You can’t visit everyone ALL the time, but if no one else, preference should at least go to those that consistently takes the time to visit YOU.

I would really like to get your feedback, & hopefully you will READ this post & comment.   It’s a lot more enjoyable if it’s a two-way street, per I am dedicated to write about topics that I feel are beneficial & helpful, & I will continue to do so regardless, but I would really appreciate it if I can get some feedback. Thank you! 🙂

 

107 thoughts on “Why Do You Follow Blogs Then Never Visit?

  1. Pingback: Sorry, Not Sorry #52things52weeks #simplymarquessa | Simply Marquessa

  2. O but how do I appreciate your post! My greatest disappointment. It angered me but! I made it a point to reciprocate to the few faithful readers. Still, not much response until! I accepted the invitation to become an author in https://yoursuccessinspirer.com/

    Wow! No longer time to lament the lack of likes & comments. Delighted to engage & connect with so many members of my new family! How blessed am I!

    Behold! The Power Of Love From On High Descending Upon Us All. That’s eternal reality descending upon the chosen children et all. It Never Fails. It Always Avails! What more could I ever want for?

    Glad we met. Keep in touch. Much love, thiaBasilia 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I do the best I can too, I have so many that have accumulated over the years that I don’t get to attend to as often as I would like. I try to set aside a day a week where I just go through and like, read peruse even and reblog some. The small print gets to me though on some of the blogs and I have a hard time reading them. Blogs like this one with big bold print I have no problems reading. Thank you for that! I like where I can and tweet out so that other can enjoy the blogs as well too. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and I will try to do better on attendance and being a part of it and not just being a lurker type. I hope you have a wonderful holidays!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d without
    a doubt donate to this outstanding blog! I guess for now i’ll settle
    for book-marking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account.

    I look forward to brand new updates and will share this website with my Facebook
    group. Chat soon!

    Like

  5. I enjoyed reading your post and I try to comment on blogs that I follow, regularly. I do comment daily, though I don’t post daily. It is very time consuming but that is the nature of the game. I read a post about raising your profile recently, followed the site and began to receive 10, 15, 20 posts a day from someone who spends 60 hours a week blogging – that doesn’t interest me in any way, and I eventually unsubscribed from his blog. It is a two way street and there is no way I could keep up that sort of committment. It’s an interesting subject with many points of view.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yikes! That’s A LOT of blogging, I don’t blame you! I appreciate your feedback, & thanks for stopping by 🙂

      Like

  6. A great lesson for me. These days, I find it hard to do reading since my eyesight suddenly got weakened, and it will get some days to get a new pair. However, I would follow your advice. It’s Great!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Hi, i think that i saw you visited my blog so i came to “return the favor”.
    I’m trying to find things to improve my site, I suppose its ok to use some of your ideas!

    Like

  8. Thank you for taking time to comment on my writing. My personal take on this blog world is, I push on regardless of attention (which, admittedly, can be nice). I started my blog as an exercise to carry on writing and make it better storage than common files – I love finding pictures etc. I wrote every day for six months without much if any feedback due to broken links…no one knew I was there.

    When they were fixed and I realised just what this WP animal was, fully, I met some amazing people and went from strength to strength, and like most, I spend time and try and give back to those who took the time with me. Even to ‘like ‘(and I do read) is sign of support from your fellow writer.) I also discovered that a lot of followers don’t come back could be due to the fact (I have found) we have to switch on the notifications in some cases anyway – I always have to when I follow someone new or I never s their stuff. Maybe people don’t know to check this when following. Some don’t come back as they had ulterior motives, or life or they decide they don’t like your stuff.

    But I admire those I do follow, and you get to know your core followers as we exchange each of our posts. I set aside time to pay visits to those that I don’t follow but who are consistent with me…or happen to like something…and see what they are up to. I spent 10 years running a writing site and to not comment due to time constraints is hard. Initially I would comment here and people were so appreciative, sadly I don’t see much of it given this is a big place.

    Like

  9. Yes, I wonder too why someone just goes randomly through blogs and ‘likes’ or even ‘follows’ but doesn’t. If I follow, then I read. I usually read a few before I decide to do so. I know that they hope you will go to their site and follow them. What I do now is if someone ‘follows’ then I either go to their site and read what they write about, and if I feel that it’s something I can relate to, I may follow, or keep their site on a list to see if they continue to read anything else I write. This past few months I had to cut back because of health reasons, but am slowly trying to catch up and re-follow those I had to stop for awhile… a few at a time.
    Thanks for reading and re-blogging my last post. I like your honesty and your thinking…. Having said that… I will be following you….Diane

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Totally agree, it has been bugging me for a good mobth or longer. I always try to catch up. The mistake i make or the way i follow is via the email route that way i think i have read and like or read and comment those i follow.. sometimes i go to the reader and realise how did i miss to read that blog.. and that is me being busy. But i agree i had people follow and i go to theirs and read their blog and decide to follow. I read and like but i just dont get the same back.. i feel this has been going on for a month or longer its a bit disheartening..and doesnt even ferl like community. Then some very new bloggers follow my blog and demand a follow back…and dont seem to realise i want to follow what intetests me.. not just to get a follow.. this whats makes me think is a view, /visit more valueable than a follow… thats my rant over.. sorry

    But so agree with you on this

    Like

  11. I am new to blogging and reading blogs but I still try to visit the blogs that I follow read post and make comment on what I read. Thank you as a new blogger gives me insight to what to do and not to do. We all must give as much as we get. Kinda speaking.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. At times I believe I have over extended myself on the following but there is so much to like in the blogging world. I have my notification sent to my email and for those who I might miss at times I try to catch up on my following feed on WordPress and do as much resharing and liking as possible. See this was a great blog and so very true just somehow missed it but as I said I do try to do as much as I can. I notice certain trends my armchair travel blog has taken off but my animal blog needs to really be worked on. Well I am going to do the best I can.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Hi, just to clarify. When I follow a website posts appear in my reader which I find difficult to follow, some also send an email alerting me to the new post but not all sites automatically do that when you “follow”. I know there are some bloggers who are networking & don’t actually read what they follow. But there may be others like me who would read more posts if they received emails. I found a receive email notification after I commented (one for comments and one for posts) but pressing the regular follow button on your site doesn’t seem to result in email notification. I do get your point and there is nothing much that can be done about these followers that are just trying to boost their own numbers, just a hint on not missing us computer beginners who love your writing. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you! Oh, I’m sorry I misunderstood you. I normally get notifications that each follower will get an email, so I wasn’t aware it was an issue.
      But, for future reference…you can go in your Reader & click “Manage” next to “Followers” on the sidebar & click on the ‘arrow’ next to the listed blog itself you want, & you will see options to click how often you want to receive the emails….daily, weekly…etc…make sure you click “On” & it will activate posts to go your email box. Hope this helps 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for stopping by. 🙂 I’m not sure I understand your comment…but my follow button is on my sidebar on my site. And my question in this post, is mostly referring to those that have already followed, but don’t do anything beyond that..(e.g. ‘like’ or ‘comment’..etc)

      Liked by 1 person

  14. I’ve thought about this too. Even on FB I try to leave a comment when someone takes the time to make a post. Not so much on the ones shared, but if someone takes the time and puts in the effort to make a new post I try to comment even if it’s just a word or two, and I appreciate when someone does the same. Thanks for the reminder.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. This has come across my mind lately, I think bloggers just follow you, so that you can do likewise, not necessarily because they are interested in what you are doing. Great thoughts!

    Like

  16. I just wrote a long comment. Im not sure if it came through though. Basically my comment was setting aside a few hours once a week to dedicate to commenting, responding, and visiting others blogs. I think it’s easier that way then trying to visit pages everyday. Especially if you work full time.

    Good post 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Good post. I think it’s important to set time aside each day or each week for your blog. And that doesn’t just mean creating content. That means being active. Such as commenting, liking post, responding. I try to take Saturday or Sunday mornings to dedicate to blog activities. I find it easier on myself to do it this way versus trying to check everyone I follow everyday. Again, great post!

    Like

  18. I have some followers that just click the like and do not leave a comment. It makes me think that possibly they didn’t care for the story, poem, advice, etc. or if it’s a reblog already read it by the originator. I even received an award but don’t know how to transfer it to my blog. However I did leave a reply letting you know I don’t know how to transfer awards.
    I try to visit all followers and leave a comment even if it is just a couple of words.
    It’s going to be interesting to see the answers here. :o)

    Like

  19. The same thing happens in life to nearly everyone. We speak to be heard but only listen to reply. Our own selfish egos trap us into this. We most times don’t realize it. Thanks for bringing it to our attention.

    Liked by 2 people

  20. I totally agree! There are some followers from this blog who hardly ever come out of the woodwork to give me feedback on posts! As a newish blogger I really like feedback and comments and likes to show me what followers want to see! Great post!

    Liked by 2 people

    • I do follow your blog beautyholics, however I am 73 and never see any information that would benefit the elderly. You have great advice for the younger generations and it is interesting but at my age I rarely wear makeup. I love for you to post something that will get rid of my wrinkles beside plastic surgery but know that it does probably not exist. :o)

      Like

  21. Awesome post. My motto: Sharing is caring, and yes likes is good, but a comments means more to me. It’s eqsy to hit like, like, like but to leave a sensible comment you need to take the time to read a post. Thank you all for listening (reading) my rambling. 😉

    Like

  22. I follow blogs because I am interested but there’s more to read than I can keep up with. I do look through my emails and when I find a blog title that I’m interested in, I click on over and read the blog, sometimes just liking but sometimes commenting. If another blogger, likes or comments on my blog, I’m much more likely to return the favor. I don’t always have time to go through my feed and read or comment on every one that I follow. So, please don’t take it that I’m not interested. I am and that’s why I initially followed, but I’m working on my time management.

    Liked by 1 person

  23. I agree, I spend hours reading post of people that follow me and people that I follow. There are certain subjects I will not comment on, politics is one, I feel that is a personal view and will keep my thoughts to myself. I will also vote. Religion is another subject, it is a personal thing. I believe in my religion and everyone has a right to worship or not, it is none of my business. Other than that I try to post a comment even if it is only a short comment.
    I always enjoy your posts, I hope you enjoy my comments. :o)

    Liked by 1 person

  24. I agree JL. I have a system that I use. If someone likes or follows my post, then I typically am reminded to go visit that person’s. Like you, I typically spend 2-3 hours reading and getting back to other people, and as my blog has grown quite a bit, that leaves little time for the WP reader. However, I totally agree with you that you should reciprocate, kind of like in a face-to-face relationship.

    Liked by 1 person

  25. I have read that the best way to become a better writer is to become a better reader. So I do try to read everyone I follow but I was not aware of how important the likes and comments were until I started a blog myself. I am very, very new to the blogging world so I appreciate your thoughts on this topic…especially to those of us who are new and perhaps are less informed on blogging etiquette so to speak. Thanks for the heads-up.

    Like

  26. Nice post! I’m guilty of not spending enough time visiting other blogs since I started working, but dedicating an hour or two a week to reading blogs is a good idea. Also, the times I have found myself mindlessly looking through facebook I could definitely spend reading through other people’s blogs.

    Liked by 2 people

  27. You are right. We all like visits and likes and comments but it’s really very hard to read all the blogs of your followers if you have many. We just have to do the best we can. I tell my friends you have a right to my visit and if you don’t see me for a while get me out of slumber by asking why I am not coming over. Sometimes I resolve to go through all the solidarity bloggers but along the line I get distracted and I only come later. What I have found is since I have hundred of bloggers who visit my site daily, when I find someone who has left a lot of likes or and comments, I try to return the gesture. Since morning, I have been visiting. That’s why you find me on your site. Honestly, it’s not easy. One thing I have done is I have tried to create opportunities on my site for bloggers to find friends so that if you come to my site and I am unable to return the visit, you may find someone who visits you and makes you happy. We just have to keep learning how to best journey together on the blogosphere. Thank you for the opportunity to share again on this. I have written on this many times as well.

    Like

  28. I think the majority of bloggers hit follow because they like what they read and they intend to read more (at least I do). Then life comes along and dumps 80 hours of work on them and they aren’t even able to return text messages to their best friends (sigh, this was my week). Also, WP emails your post (unless you set it to send only a summary) to your followers and you don’t get any metrics when the email is read or opened. So you can’t go by the stat panel alone. There are some bloggers who enjoy writing and hitting publish and don’t care if anyone reads them. I’ve met them. They’ll hit like but they don’t comment. I’ve met some very talented bloggers who don’t comment ever on anyone’s posts. So you can’t take to heart what you see in the stats panel. Bloggers approach blogging in a vriety of ways. You just have to choose your path and stick to it.

    Liked by 3 people

      • You’re welcome 😊 I’ve been fortunate enough to cross digital paths with a lot of bloggers. I know some bloggers who receive 1000s of pageviews a day and rarely receive comments. Conversations with them have changed my point of view. Being seen/read is what we all really crave. Validation is nice but being read is better. I’m grateful for every eye that lands on my blog. For me it’s enough.

        Liked by 1 person

  29. Something I often wonder at too, I take the time to read and comment genuinely but I often don’t get the same.
    I’ll have random visitors sometimes drop by as opposed to my followers which is odd I find.

    Thank you for sharing.

    Liked by 2 people

  30. Thank you and others for talking about the need to be supportive. I find it means I make a conscious effort to read others blogs, no matter whether I follow or not. I know I can’t read everything but I do make the effort to support others.

    Like

  31. Besides following way too many blogs, I’m not fond of the WP Reader. I’m still in the process of setting up “systems” to organize them (email, RSS, WP Reader) and until that time, I try to rotate. I “like” posts to acknowledge my read and that I enjoyed it.

    Liked by 2 people

  32. Great Post. You have said exactly what I think; I know some people follow me and must not read my posts (I have been blogging for 18 months and have just over 200 followers – not a lot I know but I am very happy especially with my regular and lovely followers)…so I don’t understand why people follow and don’t read/like or sometimes comment. I read all new posts from blogs I follow and like and comment if I want to say something, sometimes a few days later but I think it’s important to do that to demonstrate to the author you are interested. I have followed some posts though and then it’s not a post I am interested in so I ‘unfollow’ as I don’t have time or an interest in the subject matter.

    Like

  33. Thank you for the questions. For me, it depends on the days. Sometimes I have conversations with my fellow bloggers back and forth, back and forth for a lengthy time. If I do my blogging at night. I have to look at the clock constantly and try to touch bases. That is when I show up and click like and don’t leave comments. But I have a notebook for my blogging of names and other notes to remind myself. Anyways, I even try to go way back from the beginning to see blogs I follow and the blogs that follow me. I try to be “good” in the community. May not do a perfect job.

    Liked by 2 people

  34. Hi, sorry I forgot to mention earlier when I was here, I was so into your post, I did’nt mention that I had nominated you today for the 3 day quote challenge, I hope you accept, it is on my blog today if you wish to view and participate. Thank you
    Brooke

    Like

  35. This a very good and insightful post JL! Giving back to other bloggers is how we all can grow together. I love the likes, but I am a bigger fan when someone comments because I get to engage in discuss and even learn something from my followers. I will also say that it is amazing when you take the time to visit those who follow you because you learn something new.

    Now on the flip side, a person may follow, but may not find a post worthy of getting into. Sometimes, we may have to look at what we write and make sure we are addressing our audiences in the best way possible. In the end, it helps when we visit each other because we can offer insight and help each other become awesome!

    Liked by 7 people

    • Wow, thanks for commenting 🙂

      I personally wouldn’t follow a blog unless I can connect with the content. Now, at times there may be posts that you will like more than others, but overall, I’d assume you like something about it…unless a person is just following to get a follow, which is NOT cool.
      Since, you are also following my blog, I’m just curious as to why, per you seldom, if ever engage. I am open to more feedback & suggestions 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

      • JL, I will say that I am a fan of your page, and I love the content. Due to a hectic schedule, I do not get the opportunity to comment back on a lot of your content. As your post mentioned, we must take time to make it happen, and I will look to do that very soon.

        Like

  36. I inwardly wince when I see you have liked one of my posts because as you know I haven’t been supportive of your blog. I’m sorry.
    I write night and day (not an expression) and have life responsibilities like everyone else. I read voraciously. As a writer, one must. However, I read novels and books to improve my craft. A lot of both. All the time. I never really got into reading blogs before. Now, my preference is to read about poetry, and a bit of art/photography.
    I won’t like a post unless I read and actually like something about it. To do otherwise is a discredit to the blogger.
    We can’t blog or write to get Likes and followers. I struggle with this truth myself. We have to blog about, write about what we care and are passionate about so that the writing is its own reward. Then we have to stick with it long enough for people to find you, to gravitate to your unique brand of blogging.
    I tossed in the towel a few times but came back because, ya know what? I like writing poetry.
    Finding and audience is tough, but we can’t blame the audience if we don’t use the proper bait for the trap. ☺
    Personally, I followed your blog in support and just haven’t made time to read your posts much. I hope you can forgive that. I will try to do better.
    Michael

    Like

  37. I still have not found the answer to the questions in your post. It baffles me that people want want want but are not willing to give. If you want to be read, you must first read. If you want to be LIKEd you must first LIKE. If you want a comment, you must first comment. Nothing beats honest and open engagement.

    Liked by 6 people

  38. Totally with you on this one! I try my best to keep track of the blogs I “follow”. I don’t go through everything everybody writes, but I never “like” something I haven’t read from A to Z…

    There is one point I’d like to add, and I am sure we’ve all experienced it. I totally understand how people can go through a post, not necessarily reading all of it, and appreciate it. But some people just “like” to “like”… I’ve noticed posts that got “likes” within the first minute they were posted. And I mean around 1000 words posts, not a single picture with a one line comment. I do appreciate the support, don’t get me wrong, but I think it is just not representative in the end…

    Very interesting post… I really “like” it 😉

    Like

  39. I agree. I am trying to visit blogs I’d followed every time I have few things to do. Sometimes, I even leave comments if I have something to say on the posts but sometimes, I just have no words to give but I make sure that they could still feel my presence by liking their posts or by trying to leave a message on their other posts. 🙂

    Liked by 5 people

  40. Here here !! just to let you know I agree totally with you, and it does take time, as my community has grown so have the hours I need to go through my mails and reader, but I do enjoy it, it’s like having a education everyday, I learn so much, and love to hear the opinions of others. great post
    Brooke

    Liked by 5 people

  41. Pingback: Why Do You Follow Blogs Then Never Visit? — Hunt’s Clubhouse – falkeadpackprointernational

  42. Well said.. Sometimes I think about the same.. Actually I also get busy and miss posts from people. But when I do it I read and react the way I feel it. Good post. I think this may make some sense to a lot of people. Well said.

    Liked by 4 people

  43. JLH, u raised the genuine question regarding the blogs which we follow 🙂 I guess to implement this suggestion i should weed out a bit and spare more time for each blog. I try to read more than two recent blog posts at least for the blogs i follow, but miss many posts due to different time zones & schedules. but will try to implement more. Thank you for sharing my post here 🙂 keep blogging dear 🙂

    Like

  44. I agree with you. We´re very fond of becoming follower of a blog because its just a second and a click but many times don´t really follow it because of time, priorities,… And perhaps it´s more than 1-2 hours per week.

    Liked by 6 people

  45. Yeah J you are so right. Lately I’ve been so busy but once in a while I do stop and read the various posts of blogs I follow cuz it’s very important and it makes us feel appreciated and our work makes sense. Thanks for the post.

    Like

So, What Do Ya Think? Let me know!

